Fruit on a Straw!

I got this great idea from a friend who served them at a party. I watched my girls dive straight into them and gobble them up eating many fruits they refused to at home. I decided to have a go and get the girls involved in making them hoping this would encourage them to eat more fruit and so far it has worked!

What you need:

Fruit cut in to bite sized pieces

Straws –ย I cut them in half

With the children’sย help thread the fruit onto the straws and serve. It’s that simple ๐Ÿ™‚

It is a great activity to encourage children to try new things, builds fine motor skills and patterning skills. Also builds conversations and language skills as you can discuss the fruit you are using, the colours of the fruit and talk about food likes and dislikes.

4 responses »

  1. Great idea. I am going to try this – this afternoon with Mr 2.5 who is refusing most fruit atm. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Great! Love to hear how you go ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • We have had sooo much fun with this activity. so much so it has been our afternoon tea activity for a couple of days now. We even had to make some to take to Grandma’s on the weekend. He has even tried new fruits. Thanks again for sharing a wonderful activity. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Glad to hear it was a sucess! My friend gave me a bit of a tip on the weekend – use a cherry pitter to put a hole in the fruit to make it eairer to thread on the straw.

    Reply

Leave a comment